What is the definition of grand?

Grand has many meanings: magnificent, imposing or really big in appearance, size, or style. High ranking position. In law, a very serious offence. In names of relationships, grandparents, grandniece. Informally, it can mean excellent, e.g. we had a grand time; or to mean 1 thousand dollars or pounds