Is there such thing as dark matter?

In 1978, astrophysicist Vera Rubin found that observable motions of galaxies couldn't be explained purely by Newtonian physics, and estimated that the galaxies must contain about 6 times more mass than could be observed with existing instruments. Scientists call this invisible mass dark matter.