What is stretchy ice cream?

Stretchy ice cream is the ancient dessert and claimed to be one of the oldest forms of ice cream, and is most commonly found in the Eastern Mediterranean countries.

---

Stretchy ice cream is a Turkish ice cream, also known as maraş dondurma. It's made not just with milk and sugar, but with mastic, a tree resin, and salep, the roots of wild mountain orchids, which imparts elasticity.