What's the difference between a small mouth and a largemouth bass?

The size of the mouth

---

The difference between a smallmouth and a largemouth bass is size. The largemouth is typically larger, with a deeper body & a broader head. Smallmouth bass has a slender body, narrow head, & more minor scales. Smallmouth prefer strong currents, while largemouth bass prefer to hunt around cover.