How do you get hail?

Hailstones are formed by layers of water attaching and freezing in a large cloud. It begins to fall from a cloud during a storm, but is pushed back up into the cloud by a strong updraft of wind. More droplets then freeze to it, adding another layer. The hailstone eventually falls to Earth.