How did the megalodon get extinct?

Some scientists speculate that the ancient megalodon went extinct by being taken over by another marine animal. Survival of the fittest.

---

Past research suggests that the megalodon went missing 2.6 million years ago alongside a wave of marine extinction, potentially caused by a supernova that triggered severe climate and biodiversity changes during this time.