How much should you feed an adult cat?

Here's a general guideline that nutrition experts agree on: A healthy, active, 10-lb adult cat requires 270-320 calories per day. As a point of reference, Purina® Cat Chow® Complete contains 388 calories per 1 cup and 291 calories per 3/4 cup.