How does forests cause rainfall?

Every tree in the forest is a fountain, sucking water out of the ground through its roots and releasing water vapor into the atmosphere through pores in its foliage. They create giant rivers of water in the air – rivers that form clouds and create rainfall hundreds or even thousands of miles away.