What is deep slate?

Deepslate is a stone used in Minecraft. It's primarily used to let players know they've reached a certain point when mining underground. It is meant to replace Cobblestone once you've reached the point. Other than letting players know they're deep underground, Deepslate doesn't have any purpose.