Why are the badlands called the badlands?

The Lakota people were the first to call this place "mako sica" or "land bad." Extreme temperatures, lack of water, and the exposed rugged terrain led to this name. French-Canadian fur trappers also called it "les mauvais terres pour traverse," or "bad lands to travel through."