Is garlic bread italian?

“Italian garlic bread,” as found in American restaurants and frozen food aisles, indeed does not exist in real Italian cuisine. “Garlic bread” is the American cousin of a classic Italian preparation called bruschetta. The word comes from the Italian bruscare, meaning to roast or toast over coals.