What's the difference between sarsaparilla and root beer?

Root beer is a sweet North American soft drink traditionally made using the root bark of the sassafras tree,   Traditional sarsaparilla, is not made with the tropical sarsaparilla plant, but instead with birch oil. Both drinks taste similar, but I do like saying, Sass A Frass