Where did the term sweating bullets come from?

To sweat bullets is to sweat profusely, with giant drops, but the phrase's origin may be more complicated than the drops resembling bullets. The Word Detective believes the expression evolved from "sweating blood," which refers back to Jesus' fateful walk in the Bible.

---

The term Sweating Bullets came from the flop sweat associated with being on the receiving end of a firing squad.