Where did the term sweating bullets come from?

To sweat bullets is to sweat profusely, with giant drops, but the phrase's origin may be more complicated than the drops resembling bullets. The Word Detective believes the expression evolved from "sweating blood," which refers back to Jesus' fateful walk in the Bible.