Why is it called potter's field?

The name is from Biblical origin. It refers to Akeldama, the field of blood, the land bought by the priests for the bureal of the poor with the silver paid to Judas Iscariot for betraying Jesus. Judas comitted suicide and his blood money was considered unclean thus used for this good purpose.

---

A field that is a source of clay used by potters.