Why do pigs like mud?

Pigs like mud because they can't cool themselves by sweating. The mud keeps the pig cool from the sun.

---

To thermoregulate, pigs rely on wallowing in water or mud to cool the body. While many have suggested that pigs wallow in mud because of a lack of sweat glands, pigs and other wallowing animals may have not evolved functional sweat glands because wallowing was a part of their behavioral repertoire.