Does the word fathers have an apostrophe?

If you're using "father's" as a possessive, then an apostrophe goes before the S. If you're using "fathers" as a plural for "mother," then no apostrophe is used. If you're using "fathers'" as a possessive plural, then an apostrophe goes after the S.