Why do horses have to wear horseshoes?

Horses need horse shoes to keep their hoofs from chipping and splitting. In the wild they avoid hard rough surfaces but domestic Horses travel where humans directed them. Also the extra weight of the rider puts more stress in the hoofs as well.