What is a chlorine neutralizer?

Chlorine Neutralizer lowers your pool's chlorine residual and increases the effectiveness of attempts to remove inorganic pool stains. Granular Sodium Thiosulfate. Helps lower chlorine residual, increases effectiveness of removing inorganic stains.