Is the cupid real?

Cupid is based on classical mythology and was portrayed as the God of Desire. He is or was often portrayed as the son of Venus the Love Goddess. The Romans reinterpreted myth and concepts pertaining to Greek mythology and that interpretation gives us the chubby winged cherub ideal we know today.