How many times has the mona lisa been stolen?

Just once. Vincenzo Peruggia was an Italian thief, most famous for stealing the Mona Lisa on August 21, 1911. It wasn't until December 1913 that Peruggia was finally caught and the Mona Lisa was returned.

---

Once