Who is f. w. de clerk?

F. W. de Klerk was the 7th state president of South Africa from 1989 to 1994 and served as deputy president from 1994 to 1996. He and his government dismantled the apartheid system and introduced universal suffrage. He was South Africa's last head of state from the era of white-minority rule.