What does recycle number five mean?

#5 is polypropylene, often used for food packaging, but also one of the least recycled plastics. Polypropylene is often used to make dairy packaging and plastic cutlery. Some municipal recyclers don't collect #5; however, many Whole Foods Markets have #5 plastic recycling collection bins.