What is maxwell's hammer?

Maxwell's hammer is a reference to the Beatles song "Maxwell's Silver Hammer," in which a person named Maxwell bludgeons several people to death with a silver hammer before himself being bludgeoned to death in a courtroom. The song may possibly be about a serial killer, or it may be nonsense.