How do you become a war criminal?

A war criminal is a person who commits egregious and unjustified offenses during war, such as murdering civilians or enemy soldiers who have surrendered, or wanton destruction of towns in retaliation for resistance efforts. After WWII, many Nazis were tried for war crimes, including the Holocaust.