How did darth vader get his lightsaber?

Vader considered his master's weapon to be an antique, and sought to create a more personalized weapon with more ballast. Wishing to impress his Master, Vader attempted to create a novel design, but the resulting weapon was little more than a black-alloy version of his first Jedi lightsaber.