What's an h. k. four sixteen?

The Heckler & Koh HK4-16 is a rifle similar to an M4 service rifle... which works by gas impingement to cycle the bolt carrier group to eject cartridges. The HK4-16 uses a short stroke piston instead. This means less heat and fouling generated in the action. It is in use by the U.S. Navy SEALS