What's a powdered wig?

In the 1500s, it became fashionable to wear a wig to conceal baldness when fashion dictated long, luxurious hair. Perukes, as the wigs were called, were also coated with powder scented with lavender or orange to hide any funky aromas. The fad held for nearly two hundred years.