What does a wet nose on a dog mean?

The wetness of a dog's nose comes from a mixture of saliva and mucus, says Dr. ... Dogs' wet noses also contribute to their incredible sense of smell. When dogs inhale, tiny scent particles floating in the air get trapped in their nose mucus.