When was the natural made?

The 1984 movie, The Natural, was based on a 1952 novel. The movie stared Robert Redford playing Roy Hobbs, who was a “natural” baseball talent. The fictional Roy Hobbs was based on many baseball legends, but mostly on Eddie Waitkus who played in the major league in the 1940s.