Is it harder to hold air in with copd?

No. The problem with COPD is air becomes trapped in the little sacs in the lungs. These little sacs are called alveoli and they continue to expand until they are no longer able to stretch. This is part of the process that makes it very difficult for a person with COPD to breathe.