Why are truffles so rare?

Truffles are rare because they only grow in very specific conditions. Unlike other mushrooms that grow on dead logs or in the soil (see our previous post on nature's three ways to make a mushroom), truffles need a live plant to grow in a relationship called the ectomycorrhizal symbiosis.