Where were chips invented?

The potato chip was invented in 1853 by George Crum. If you mean British chips, which Americans call French Fries, they are first mentioned in 1775 in a Parisian book, and the first recipe for modern chips is in the French cookbook La cuisinière républicaine in 1795.