What is fromage cheesecake?

Fromage cheesecake is a cheesecake that uses fromage frais as the main ingredient. Fromage frais is fresh cheese similar to sour cream or yogurt. It is made from pasteurized milk and cream and is usually lower in fat and calories than cream cheese.