Is ice cream frozen?

The U.S Food and Drug Administration (FDA) defines ice cream as food “produced by freezing, while stirring, a pasteurized mix of dairy ingredients.” Getting even more technical, ice cream must contain at least 10% milkfat and less than 1.4% egg yolk.