Who is the secretary of defense under truman?

James Forrestal was Truman's Secretary of Defense until his death in 1949. He was succeeded by Louis A. Johnson, followed by Robert Lovett. Forrestal was the nation's first Secretary of Defense. Previously, the position was known as the Secretary of War, overseeing the War Department.