What does soho mean in new york city?

The name "SoHo" refers to the area being "South of Houston Street", a name coined in 1962 by Chester Rapkin, an urban planner and author of The South Houston Industrial Area study, also known as the "Rapkin Report". The name also recalls Soho, an area in London's West End.