Where did fission chips originate?

It remains unclear exactly when and where these two trades combined to become the modern fish and chip shop industry. Joseph Malin, opened the first recorded combined fish-and-chip shop in London in 1860; a Mr Lees pioneered the concept in the North of England, in Mossley, in 1863.