How long can chameleons go without heat?

Chameleons are reptiles, so they are cold blooded. Pet chameleons require a heat lamp for them to remain strong and healthy. Without it, their bodies aren't able to function correctly, and a number of different things could go wrong. They can only last a couple of hours without heat.