Why do cats like to sit in boxes?

Seeking out confined spaces is an instinctual behavior for cats. In the wild, these areas allow the animals to both hide from predators and surreptitiously stalk prey. Boxes also provide cats with a cozy, safe place to sleep, which is very important given that felines sleep for up to 20 hours a day.