Who played the original darth vader?

The man in the costume that actually played Darth Vader throughout three Star Wars films was David Prowse. Prowse, as a former bodybuilder, was cast because of his impressive body, making Darth Vader look threatening in the costume. But the character was voiced by actor James Earl Jones.