What is slime in minecraft?

Slimes are bouncy cube-shaped hostile mobs that spawn in the swamp, and occasionally, deep underground. Slimes spawn in the Overworld in specific "slime chunks" below layer 40 regardless of light levels. They can also spawn in swamp biomes between layers 50 and 70 in light levels of 7 or less.