What's the difference between a mason and a freemason?

In the middle ages, the terms masons and freemasons were used to differentiate between the rank and file stonemasons, on the one hand, who were rough masons, row masons, setters, layers, or mortarmen, and on the other hand, freemasons, who were more skilled and better paid.