Who invented the game of hockey?

James Creighton Early Hockey at the Victoria Rink in Montreal. Montreal was the first organized game. It took place at Victoria Skating Rink on March 3, 1875, with two teams of nine players each. James Creighton organized the game and even captained one of the teams.