Why do dogs turn their heads?

the head tilt may also be a response to visual cues, not just auditory. Stanley Coren of Psychology Today suggests that a dog's muzzle might make it difficult to see the source of the sound. by tilting their heads, dogs are better able to see our faces and read our expressions.