What's the origin of the word cattywampus?

There are many theories on the origin of cattywampus. One suggests it may derive from the Scots words wampish, meaning 'twist', and cater, meaning diagonal. Another theory states it was just a funny sounding made up word, with a classical tone to it. It means diagonal or askew in American English.