What makes onions make you cry?

Onions produce the chemical irritant known as syn-propanethial-S-oxide. It stimulates the eyes' lachrymal glands so they release tears.

---

Onions contain essential oils. When an onion is being cut or chopped then these essential oils will be released and evaporate. The essential oil vapors reaching the eye make us cry.