How does an oboe sound?

The French oboe has a sound which is more conspicuously audible in the overall orchestral sound, whereas the Viennese oboe tends to blend in more easily. The oboe's low notes sound thick, heavy and melancholy, the lowest develop very powerfully. Pianissimo notes sound flute-like.