Are the three musketeers real?

Ironically, the Memoires are, in fact, historically based. D'Artagnan, the hero of The Three Musketeers, was really Charles de Batz-Castelmore, and hailed from Gascony, just as Dumas writes. Athos, Porthos, and Aramis are also based on real Musketeers.