What year was sputnik?

The Soviet Union launched Sputnik into an elliptical low Earth orbit on 4 October 1957, orbiting for three weeks before its batteries died, then silently for two more months before falling back into the atmosphere.

---

Sputnik was launched October 4, 1957.