What is a mature germ cell called?

Each mature germ cell is haploid, meaning that it has a single set of 23 chromosomes containing half the usual amount of DNA and half the usual number of genes. Except for the egg and the sperm, most cells in the human body contain the entire human genome. Also known as a gamete.